

Endowment Letter

The Daniel L. Burkett III Memorial Scholarship Committee would like to sincerely thank you for your loving support in memory of Danny. Thanks to generous supporters like you, we have reached our initial goal of \$50,000 raised for the scholarship fund. As a result, we are extremely proud to announce that the Daniel L. Burkett III Memorial Scholarship is an official, endowed scholarship at the University of San Diego.

The scholarship will immediately become part of the Alumni Association scholarship program at USD. This exciting program is comprised of scholarships funded mainly by alumni donations and includes other well-known memorial scholarships. With the help of the USD Alumni Association we hope to steadily increase the size of the endowment, as well as the amount awarded each semester. Currently, we are in the process of marketing the scholarship to potential student applicants and plan to award the first scholarship in the fall 2010 semester.

To qualify, students must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher, be an active member in good standing of a social Greek organization, and demonstrate exceptional involvement and service to USD and/or the community. Special consideration will be given to students who are members of Alcalá Club or Omicron Delta Epsilon International Economics Honor Society. We feel these criteria will help find the candidate who best exemplifies the spirit of Danny Burkett.

We are very excited to begin this next chapter and look forward to sharing each accomplishment with you along the way. Please be sure to regularly visit our website at <u>www.dlbscholarship.com</u> where we will keep you informed on all notable events regarding the scholarship. Updates can also be found on the USD Alumni Association scholarship program web page at <u>http://alumni.sandiego.edu</u>. Thank you again for your support. We wish you and your family health and happiness in 2010 and beyond as we continue to honor the amazing life of Danny Burkett.

Sincerely,

Matt Pioli '05 Anthony Pavich '06 Shaun Moothart '06 Steve Ettlin '06